Skip to main content

Empowering Through Devotion: Unveiling the Link Between the Nine Incarnations during Navratri and Women’s Strength

By October 19, 2023Blogs, Inclusive DiversityViews: 547

Navratri festival honours the power of the divine feminine. It has profound spiritual and religious importance since each of its nine days symbolizes a different element of the Goddess Shakti. The celebration serves as a reminder of women’s natural power and potential, and how they may surmount difficulties by being tenacious and persistent.

Navratri is a diverse and culturally rich festival, and its celebration reflects the local traditions and customs of different regions in India. The worship of Trisakti during Navratri in South India is a unique tradition. Trisakti refers to the three goddesses – Mahakali, Mahalakshmi, and Mahasaraswati. They are worshipped to acquire strength and ferocity, wealth of noble values and wisdom respectively. The tenth day after Navratri is celebrated as Vijayadashami. It marks Goddess Durga’s triumph over the demon Mahishasura symbolizing the victory of good over evil.

In other parts of India, the nine incarnations of the Goddess Shakti are worshipped over nine days during Navratri. Each form is connected to certain traits, symbolism, and narratives that have deeper implications. Here is a brief overview of each incarnation and its link with women’s empowerment.

1) The First Incarnation – Maa Shailaputri

She is the Goddess of Courage and Resilience. Women are empowered to meet life’s obstacles head-on by taking inspiration from her bravery and tenacity. It serves as an inspiration for women to embrace their capabilities, challenge societal norms, and strive for empowerment in various aspects of their lives.

2) The Second Incarnation – Maa Brahmacharini

She is the Goddess of Dedication and Knowledge. A dedication to lifelong learning, like Maa Brahmacharini’s quest for knowledge, enables women to achieve success in a variety of disciplines. It encourages intellectual pursuits, breaks stereotypes, fosters inner strength, and promotes a balanced and empowered approach to life.

3) The Third Incarnation – Maa Chandraghanta

She is the Goddess of Grace and Fearlessness. Her significance lies in her embodiment of courage, protection, balanced strength, leadership, and the ability to overcome challenges. Women can face adversity with elegance and handle misfortune with grace when they cultivate grace and fearlessness.

4) The Fourth Incarnation – Maa Kushmanda

She is the Goddess of Strength and Energy. This form represents women’s creative potential and inspires them to tap into their talents and recognize the power of their creations. It encourages them to harness their innate strengths for personal and collective growth.

5) The Fifth Incarnation – Maa Skandamata

She is the Goddess of Nurturing and Protection. Her significance for women’s empowerment lies in her representation of motherhood, nurturing qualities, equality in parenthood, multi-faceted roles, strength in maternity, protection of children, and the balance between compassion and strength. Her worship serves as a reminder of the diverse and empowering roles that women play in shaping the present and future generations.

6) The Sixth Incarnation – Maa Katyayani

She is the Goddess of Courage and Fierceness. The significance lies in her embodiment of assertiveness, freedom of choice, justice, the ability to overcome adversity, transformation, and the promotion of equality in relationships. Her worship serves as a source of inspiration for women to embrace their strength, and assert their rights.

7) The Seventh Incarnation – Maa Kaalratri

She is often depicted as a fierce and dark goddess, symbolizing the destructive and protective aspects of the divine feminine. She is significant because she embodies strength, defense, breaking stereotypes, embracing one’s shadow self, inclusive empowerment, and the encouragement of independence. Her worship encourages women to confront challenges, break free from societal expectations, and embrace their inner strength and resilience.

8) The Eighth Incarnation – Maa Mahagowri

She is the Goddess of Purity and Compassion. Women spread love and goodwill by adopting her ideals of purity and compassion. She also signifies inner beauty, self-purification, balance in relationships, healing, elegance, and the embodiment of auspiciousness.

9) The Ninth Incarnation – Maa Siddhidatri

She is the Goddess of Wisdom and Spirituality. Women find inner strength and clarity by seeking wisdom and embracing spirituality. Her worship encourages women to embark on a journey of self-discovery, continuous learning, spiritual growth, and the fulfillment of their aspirations.


The role of women has transcended traditional boundaries. Women are no longer restricted to the four walls of their houses; they are now pillars of strength in society, decision-makers, and leaders. Women can draw courage from the Navadurga, the nine forms of Goddess Durga, to effectively traverse this ever-changing environment. The goddess’s diverse forms collectively inspire and empower women to embrace their potential and contribute meaningfully to society.

If this article interests you, leave a comment below or write to For more blogs and articles, visit our official website. Contact us for workshops and queries related to POSHEAP (Employee Assistance Program,) and Diversity and Inclusion.

Leave a Reply